警方要求我配合录像问询,我该怎么办?

到警察局参与录像问询是相当让人胆怯的事。 只有涉及公诉罪才会被要求录像问询。

如果您是因为简易罪(例如酒后驾驶)被警方拦下,是不会被要求配合录像问询的。 您只会在路边接受问话然后当场收到违规通知或被告知您将会收到邮寄的传票。

关于简易罪向您问话时,警方人员可以录下谈话内容并无义务预先警告您。

如果是公诉罪问话,警方则有义务预先告知您您的权利。 若未做到,您所说的一切日后将不能接纳为呈堂证供。 您无须回答任何提问并且必须有致电律师的机会。

在参与录像问询前,您应该寻求法律咨询。 警方目前都是以数位多功能影响(DVD)录像机进行录像问询的。 问询中,您所说的一切日后也许会用来证实警方的控诉。

即使所有证人日后过世及口供全失,警方仅凭您DVD录像问询所说的答案就可以证实控诉了。 所以您在问询时的作答非常关键。

问询过程中,您应该选择回应问询,即为录像问询时有问必答;或选择不回应问询,即为对于警方的所有提问一概不回应。 切记千万不可回答一些提问而不回应一些提问 – 这种作答方式允许陪审团对您做出推断。

您还应该知道的是:与警方交谈中没有所谓的“非正式”谈话内容。 如果您的意愿是在录像问询时什么也不说,那同样的您与任何一名警方人员在任何时刻就控诉罪状都应保持不回应。

录像问询是否应该回应并没有直接明确的最佳做法。 如果您对于回应问询感到紧张或是不确定,那以防万一保持不回应问询会是比较安全的做法。

而有些情况下,回应问询是有助于您的。 如果配合问询了,之后也许不必再提供证据 – 这可以是很大的优势。 有时回应问询意味的是从轻处置的机会。

不过不可否认的事实是,我们听过的许多录像问询对参与者并无益处,只是帮助了警方建立控诉。

回应或不回应问询,应该谨慎决定。 选择错了后果可能相当严重;应与律师详细商讨后再作出此决定。

如果您被要求配合录像问询,请即刻寻求法律咨询。 今天就致电我们办公处,与一名刑事律师商讨您的案件。

The police want me to participate in a recorded interview. What should I do?

Being interviewed by police? Speak to a lawyer first

Attending a police station to participate in a video recorded interview can be very daunting. You will only be asked to do this if you are being interviewed in relation to an indictable offence.

If you are pulled over by police for a summary offence (for example drink driving), you will not be asked to participate in a video recorded interview. You will be questioned on the side of the road and you will either receive an infringement notice on the spot or be advised that you will receive a summons in the mail.

When questioning you in relation to a summary offence, a police officer can record the conversation. They are not required to inform you in respect of being recorded.

When being questioned over an indictable offence the police must caution you in regard to your rights and record that caution. If they do not it is likely that anything you say will be inadmissible later at Court. You do not have to answer questions and you must be given the opportunity to make a phone call to a lawyer. Different rules apply to summary offences.

You should always seek legal advice before taking part in a video recorded interview. Police now use DVD recorders when conducting a record of interview. Whatever you say during the course of the interview may be used against you later to prove their case.

Even if all the witnesses were to later die and their statements were all lost, the police would only need your answers on the record of interview DVD to prove their case. What you say in interview is very important.

Should I make comment or no comment in my police interview?

During the course of the interview you should either make a comment interview by participating openly during the record of interview, or make no comment, answering none of the questions put to you by police. Something you should never do is answer some questions and then answer no comment to others. In some circumstances juries are permitted to make inferences against you when you answer in this manner.

You should also know that there is no such thing as an “off the record” conversation with police. If your intention is to say nothing to police during the recorded interview that should also apply to any conversation that you have with any police member at any time in regard to the alleged offence.

There is no straightforward answer to whether you should make comment or not make comment during a record of interview. If you are unsure or nervous about making  comment during your interview then you should err on the side of caution and make a straight no comment interview.

There are some circumstances where a comment interview might be helpful. If you participate in an interview you may not be required to give evidence later. This can have huge advantages. Sometimes, making a comment interview may mean you are provided the opportunity of diversion.

It is nonetheless a fact that many recorded interviews we have listened to have not been helpful for the person participating, and have only assisted the police to prove their case.

Seek advice from a lawyer before deciding to make comment or no comment

Whether to make a comment or no comment interview is not a decision that should be taken lightly. There can be serious ramifications for making the wrong choice, and it is one that should only be made after detailed consultation with a lawyer.

If you have been asked to participate in a record of interview then seek urgent legal advice. Call our office to discuss your case with a criminal lawyer today.