警方在我家,我有什么权利?

警方有三种方法进入您的产业 - 经您允许、拥有刑事令状或是现有法令或普通法下的权限。

如果警方没有刑事令来到您家大门而您又不愿让他们进入您的产业,那您应该一开始就表明。 如果警方以别的权限进入,这点可以成为日后争议的论据。

您须知的重要一点是:即使您一开始同意了让警方进入您的产业,此许可是可以撤销的。 如果许可撤销之时还未查获任何非法事宜,警方必须在合理时间范围内撤离。

在没有邀请的情况下,警方如同一般人只能来到大门外;一旦清楚表明不受欢迎便必须退到您产业的外围。

在法令下,警方有几种权限可以搜查公民的私人产业。 州初级法院法第64条下,拘捕令连带含有搜查任何拘捕令所列之人被怀疑躲藏在内的任何产业的权限。

刑法第459A条下,警方有权进入产业搜索警方怀疑犯下严重公诉罪的嫌犯。 此权限仅允许警方搜索嫌犯而不得查封产业。 不过,在合法入室的情况下可于法令或普通法下的其他权限授权发现非法产业。

家庭暴力保护法允许在怀疑发生了家庭暴力事件的情况下,无刑事令进入个人产业。 道路安全法案现也允许警方在某些于扰乱公共秩序或危害公众安危等罪行的情况下,即使无刑事令也可搜查车辆。 这些只是一些法令允许无刑事令下进入产业的例子。

搜查令是法院发的公文,授权持有者搜查所提名的产业或物品。 此令状可以由州初级法院法官或是法官颁令,其作用在于保护市民不被警方滥用颁令职权。

不过,刑法第92条是允许高级别警官授权限制性的产业搜查。 由于此类授权不是由州初级法院法官所颁令因此不算刑事令。 不过也的确模糊了界限。

搜查某场所的刑事令状必须列明要搜查的产业。 若地址写错,此搜查则作废。 搜查令还必须列明要搜查的地点或事物以及搜查理据(疑似犯下的罪行)。

警方就搜查产业整体而言是有一定的权限,不过不是无限权限。 警方是否合法行事 – 这一点是可以与您的律师商讨的。

如您的产业被警方搜查过了并希望得到进一步的法律咨询,今天就致电我们的办公处预约时间面谈。

Police are at my house. What are my rights?

There are three ways police are permitted to gain entry to your property;

  • with your consent,
  • with a warrant or
  • with an existing right under statute or common law.

If the police are at your door without a warrant and you do not want them to enter your property, you should make that clear at the outset. If it turns out the police have entered under a different power then this is something that can be challenged at a later date.

It is important to know that although you may initially consent to police entering your property, that consent can also be revoked. If nothing illegal has been found at the point consent is revoked, the police must leave, after being given a reasonable amount of time to do so.

The police are permitted to come as far as the front door without invitation, like anybody else, but once it is made clear that they are not welcome then they must retreat to the outer boundaries of your property.

Police have a number of powers under statute to search a private citizen’s property.

  • Under section 64 of the Magistrates’ Court Act a warrant to arrest carries with it the power to search any property where the person named in the warrant is suspected to be in hiding.
  • Under section 459A of the Crimes Act, police have the power to enter a property in order to search for a person they suspect has committed a serious indictable crime. This power only allows them to search for the suspect, not to seize property. However, the discovery of illegal property in accordance with a lawful entry may be authorised under other powers under statute or common law.
  • The Family Violence Protection Act  permits entry without warrant to a person’s property where it is suspected that family violence has occurred. The Road Safety Act also now permits police to search a vehicle in absence of a warrant in certain circumstances associated with hoon offences. These are just some examples where statute permits entry to property in absence of a warrant.

A search warrant is a Court issued document that authorises the holder to search a nominated property or thing. A warrant can only be issued by a Magistrate or a Judge. This is to protect citizens from police abusing the powers associated with the issuing of warrants.

However, section 92 of the Crimes Act does allow high ranking police officers to authorise property searches, with certain limitations. As this is not issued by a Magistrate it is not technically a warrant,  but it does blur the lines somewhat.

A warrant to search a particular premises must specifically name the property. An error in the address will make a search of the property invalid. The warrant must also state the place or thing to be searched and what general offence has justified the search.

Police have fairly broad powers in relation to searching property, but they are not unlimited. Whether the police have acted lawfully is something that can be looked at in consultation with your lawyer.

If you have had your property searched by police and would like further advice, call one of our offices today and make an appointment for a consultation.